Bermudian Heritage Museum

Address: 
Junction of Duke of York Street and Water Street in St. George's, Bermuda

The unique 'L' shape and hipped roof of the former Grand United Order of Good Samaritans Lodge is characteristic of many 19th century lodges. Once home to an order of the Friendly Society, formed to assist Blacks after emancipation, it is now the site of the Bermudian Heritage Museum and a stop on the African Diaspora Heritage Trail. The museum's installations highlight the social, cultural and political achievements of Black Bermudians including the history of Cup Match (a two day cricket game celebrated during the Emancipation and Somers Day holidays), Bermudian black lodges, and the 1959 Theatre Boycott, which ultimately ended segregation in Bermuda.
The museum, located on the corner of West Water Street and Duke of York Street, is open three days a week by volunteers. Please call to confirm days.

Admission is $4 adults, $2 children, free ages 5 and under.

Bus Routes #1, 3, 10 or 11